Information about Indonesia: Indonesia is a vast equatorial archipelago of 17,000 islands extending 5,150 kilometers (3,200 miles) east to west, between the Indian and Pacific Oceans in Southeast Asia. The largest islands are Sumatra, Java, Kalimantan (Indonesian Borneo), Sulawesi, and the Indonesian part of New Guinea (known as Papua or Irian Jaya). Indonesia, the world’s fourth most populous nation, is 86 percent Muslim—and the largest Islamic country, though it is a secular state. Indonesians are separated by seas and clustered on islands.Jakarta is the capital and the largest city with a population of 10,64 million (2019). Read More...

Islands of Indonesia


1. Bangka – Belitung Islands

Lies on the the western part of Indonesia, Bangka and Belitung Islands located just in the east coast of Sumatra. Pictured above is Parai Tenggiri Beach in Bangka Island. The word bangka derives from ‘wangka’ which means “tin” as the island is one of the major contributors of the world’s production.
There are approximately 7 offshore islets in Belitung. One of them is Lengkuas Island that took its name from the herb ‘galanga’ that is used in many Indonesian food.

2. Thousand Islands (Kepulauan Seribu) in the North of Jakarta’s coast.

This chain of islands consist of almost 128 small islands located in the Bay of Jakarta. These islands become Jakartans’ favorite for a quick weekend getaway.

Tidung Island.

Pari Island.

3. Karimun Jawa Islands in the Java Sea

This another chained-island in Indonesia has 27 islands in its territory.

Karimun Beach.

4. Derawan Islands, East Kalimantan

The islands include Derawan, Sangalaki, Kakaban, Maratua, Panjang, and Samama Island.

Swimming with jellyfish in Kakaban Lake.

5. Bunaken Island, North Sulawesi

Bunaken is well-known for its highest level of biodiversity. There are at least 58 different genera and sub-genera of corals and 2,000 species of fish are found in the marine park.

Coral life in Bunaken National Marine Park.

6. Wakatobi, Southeast Sulawesi

Wakatobi is an acronym of 4 main islands (Wangi-wangi Island, Kaledupa, Tomia, and Binongko) of an archipelago group known as Tukang Besi Islands.

Wakatobi marine life.

7. Bali Island

Tanah Lot Temple.

Rice terraces in Ubud.

Dreamland Beach.

8. Lombok Island, West Nusa Tenggara

Mount Rinjani.

Senggigi Beach.

Tanjung Aan.

9. Gili Islands, West Nusa Tenggara

The Islands consist of 3 small islands : Gili Trawangan, Gili Meno, and Gili Air.

Gili Trawangan.

Diving in Gili Air.

Gili Meno.

10. Flores Island, East Nusa Tenggara

Kelimutu Lakes are basically three craters with three different colors at the top of Kelimutu Mountain. According to locals belief, the lakes are the spiritual resting place of their ancestors. It is said the lakes change color according to the mood of the spirits.

Spider-web rice field at Cara Village in Cancar, Ruteng.

17 Islands Riung Marine Park.

11. Komodo Island

Komodo Island is the home of the largest (and endangered) lizard on Earth, Komodo Dragon.

Komodo National Park.

Badass lizard.

This pink-colored sand in Pink Beach is formed by the dead red corals.

12. Raja Ampat Islands, West Papua

Raja Ampat Islands, West Papua

The Islands consist of Misool, Salawati, Batanta, Waigeo, and the smaller island of Kofiau.


Comments are closed.