Information about Indonesia: Indonesia is a vast equatorial archipelago of 17,000 islands extending 5,150 kilometers (3,200 miles) east to west, between the Indian and Pacific Oceans in Southeast Asia. The largest islands are Sumatra, Java, Kalimantan (Indonesian Borneo), Sulawesi, and the Indonesian part of New Guinea (known as Papua or Irian Jaya). Indonesia, the world’s fourth most populous nation, is 86 percent Muslim—and the largest Islamic country, though it is a secular state. Indonesians are separated by seas and clustered on islands.Jakarta is the capital and the largest city with a population of 10,64 million (2019). Read More...

Regions of Indonesia


Indonesia has 34 provinces, eight of which have been created since 1999, namely: North Maluku, West Papua, Banten, Bangka–Belitung Islands, Gorontalo, Riau Islands Province, West Sulawesi and (in late 2012) North Kalimantan.

Five provinces have special status:

  • Aceh, for the use of the sharia law as the regional law of the province.
  • Special Region of Yogyakarta, a sovereign monarchy within Indonesia with the sultan Hamengkubuwono as hereditary Governor and Paduka Sri Pakualam as hereditary vice-governor. SR Yogyakarta refused to call themselves as the province according to Law No. 03/1950 and No. 12/2012 about The Speciality of Special Region of Yogyakarta.
  • Papua, for implementation of sustainable development.
  • West Papua, for granting implementation of sustainable development.
  • Special Capital Region of Jakarta.

The provinces are officially grouped into seven geographical units.

Comments are closed.